These sports teams in Brandenburg were already German champions

back dam.SC Potsdam is currently fighting for a possible first championship title in the latest series of the Volleyball Bundesliga. On Wednesday (8pm Sports 1), the volleyball players will play their third game of the Final Series in the Best of Five (condition: 1:1). The Potsdam women will not be the first Brandenburg team to win the German team title since reunification – selection:

Read more after the announcement

Read more after the announcement

Potsdam turbine (football): The Turbine Ladies are perhaps the best known team champion in Brandenburg. The team won the championship six times (2004, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012) under the guidance of coach Bernd Schroeder, a title missing from the German champions 1. FFC Frankfurt.

Frankfurt HC (handball): Brandenburg’s only handball championship goes to six-time East German champion FHC Frankfurt/Oder. The women’s team led by world champion Bianca Urbani-Rusicki won the title in the 2003/04 season, one point ahead of 1. FC Nuremberg. Handball players are currently playing in League Three for promotion to League Two.

SV90 Verplein (Bowling): The bowlers’ big coup from Verbelin did well twelve years ago. In 2010, the SV 90 took the championship title for the first and only time to date, and since then there have been seven runner-up titles.

Read more after the announcement

Read more after the announcement

Babelsberg Engine (boxes): 2016 saw the biggest success in the club’s history, when the Motor Babelsberg boxing team won the German championship for the first time. Tragic: Two weeks later, coach and manager Ralph Mantau died unexpectedly, the actor behind the team.

BR Brandenburg (boxing): BR Brandenburg was the predecessor to Motors as champions of Germany, who was able to bring the title to Brandenburg three times (1992, 1994, 1995). The teams included Olympic champion Torsten May and later professional world champion Sven Otke.

Paris Saint-Germain Center Dynamo Brandenburg (Judo): Four times (1999, 2006, 2009, 2011) judokas from the police sports community won the German championship title, in particular the name of the three-time Olympic participant Sandra Koppen Zuckershwerdt for the Brandenburg women’s success.

UJKC Potsdam (Judo): The UJKC women’s team won the German national team’s first Bundesliga title for the first time in 2005 and repeated it in 2007 and 2008. The judoka team achieved the team’s biggest success in 2006, becoming European vice champions for the club’s teams. . Since 2011 there has been no UJKC women’s team in the Bundesliga.

GC90 Frankfurt (Judo): The men also succeeded in judo, and the JC 90 Frankfurt (Oder) team won the championship in 1992, 1998 and 1999. After the 2015 season, the club withdrew from the Bundesliga.

TSV Chemie Premnitz (Bowling): The bowling division of TSV Chemie Premnitz has also been named the best team in the republic three times. In 2006, 2010 and 2011 the best bowling team in Germany came from Westhavelland. The men are currently in second place in the first division of the German Bundesliga.

Read more after the announcement

Read more after the announcement

1. Luckenwalder SC (Wrestling): The famous wrestling club from Luckenwalde fought for the German league title for many years, and in 2006 the team won the first and only championship. After 25 years, they withdrew from the Bundesliga in 2016 for financial reasons, and the wrestlers now fight in the regional third-tier league.

Potsdamer SV OSC (Swimming): The largest swimming club in Mark is not only successful in all areas, but also on top. In 2015, the men won the national team league. Because of this performance, you were also voted Brandenburg Team of the Year.

SV Leuthen / Klein Oßnig (Billiards): In the immediate vicinity of Cottbus, SV Leuthen / Klein Osnig is a stronghold of billiards bowling, the club has been the 18-time German champion and is currently second in the Bundesliga. Bowling is especially popular in Brandenburg.

Cottbus (gymnastics): No team in Brandenburg has won more German championship titles than the SC Cottbus gymnastics team in the German Gymnastics League. Nine times (1991, 1992, 1999, 2000, 2003, 2006 to 2008, 2010) the men were on top of the podium – this also makes SCC the men’s record champion.

RG Parchim-Wolfslake (speedway): RG Parchim-Wolfslake won the final of their first Speedway Bundesliga in Olching in September 2004, and is thus the German team champion.

AC Lauchhammer (weightlifting): In 1998 and 2000, AC Lauchhammer won the German Powerlifting Championship. That’s why they were named Team of the Year in 1998.

Read more after the announcement

Read more after the announcement

Written by Stephen Hencke

Leave a Comment