State elections 2022 in Wuppertal: everything you need to know

Elections in North Rhine-Westphalia
What you need to know about the 2022 state elections in Wuppertal

The NRW state parliament will also be elected on May 15 in Wuppertal. All information about local constituencies and candidates as well as the results of the 2017 state elections can be found here.

Who will rule the state of NRW for the next five years will be decided after the May 15 state elections. Citizens of the Bergisch City Triangle are also invited to vote. Here are the most important facts about the elections in Wuppertal.

What was elected in May anyway?

Landtag is the parliament of a federal state. In May, the citizens of North Rhine-Westphalia elect members of parliament who will go to the state parliament. There they control the work of the state government or pass laws. The seat of the North Rhine-Westphalia State Parliament is located in the state capital Düsseldorf. It currently consists of 199 deputies, 100 of whom belong to the CDU or the FDP. A very narrow majority for the incumbent Prime Minister Hendrik Fust. As in Bundestag elections, all eligible voters can choose a direct candidate with their first vote. With the second vote they chose a party.

What circles belong to Wuppertal?

234,000 people are entitled to vote in Wuppertal. All German citizens who were born before May 15, 2004, that is, who have reached the legal age on election day, are entitled to vote. There are a total of 128 constituencies in the NRW, three of which belong to the city of Wuppertal. The departments include the following sites:

  • District 32 Wuppertal 1: the districts of Barmen with Barmen-Mitte, Loh-Unterbarmen, Oberbarmen, Heckinghausen, Langerfeld-Bainburg, Ronsdorf
  • District 33 Wuppertal II: Uellendahl-Katernberg, Elberfeld, Elberfeld-Mitte, Hombüchel, Höchsten, Ostersbaum, Griffenberg, Barmen with Sedansberg-Rott, Clausen-Hatzfeld and Kothen-Lichtenplatz
  • District 34 Wuppertal III – Solingen II: the counties of Elberfeld-West, Vohwinkel, Cronenberg and Elberfeld with Friedrichsberg. From the city of Solingen, the districts of Gräfrath Mitte with the city center to the south, Klauberg-Hasseldelle, Kohlfurth and Kannenhof-Meigen, Halfeshof.

When are polling stations open in Wuppertal?

The entire city of Wuppertal is divided into 221 polling districts with the same number of polling stations (at 155 polling station locations). On Election Sunday, bars are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. You can see here which polling area is assigned to any polling station. If you are unable to vote on Election Day, you can apply to vote by mail in advance and cast your vote either at the election office or by letter. By April 23, all eligible voters should have received their voting documents.

Which direct candidates can be elected to Wuppertal by first vote?

One direct mandate is granted in each of the three Wuppertal districts. This goes to the candidate with the most votes. These are the candidates for the Bundestag parties in Wuppertal:

  • District 32 Wuppertal 1: Rainer Becker (CDU), Andreas Bialas (SPD), Marcel Havke (FDP), Hartmut Becker (AfD), Andreas Zawerucha (Greens), Emil Koss (left).
  • District 33 Wuppertal II: Hans-Jörg Herhausen (CDU), Dilek Engin (SPD), Alexandra Trachten (FDP), Martin Liedtke-Bentlage (AfD), Marc Schulz (Greens), Kai Merkel (left).
  • District 34 Wuppertal III – Solingen II: Anja Vesper-Pottkamp (CDU), Josef Neumann (SPD), Jessica Bremes (FDP), Otto Feist (AfD), Eva Miriam Fuchs (greens), Till Sörensen-Giebel (left).

What parties can be elected by second vote?

Among others, parties already represented in the state parliament are allowed, such as CDU, SPD, Greens, FDP and AfD. In addition to established parties such as the Left Party, there will also be Die Basis, Volt or Die Basis on the ballot.

How high was the turnout in the 2017 state elections in Wuppertal?

In the city of Wuppertal, 62 percent of eligible voters participated in the election, which was lower than the statewide result of 65.2 percent.

How did the parties perform at Wuppertal in 2017?

The SPD was the strongest force in Wuppertal in 2017 with 36.22 percent of the second vote (NRW: 30.9). The CDU party reached 29.97 percent (NRW: 33). The Greens followed with 10.03% (NRW: 6.4), the FDP with 8.6% (NRW: 12.6) and the AfD with 7.38% (NRW: 7.4).

How did the Wuppertal deputies perform in 2017?

The three Wuppertal districts went to the Social Democratic Party in the 2017 state elections. In Wuppertal 1, Dietmar Barr (SPD) won 38.7 percent, Wuppertal II Andreas Bialas (SPD) 34.2 percent, and Wuppertal III Solingen II Joseph Neumann (Social Democratic Party) with 36.0 percent.

All information about neighboring circles from:

Leave a Comment