What you need to know about state elections

Circle of Moers / Neukirchen-Vluyn
What you need to know about state elections

Who runs in the newly designed Moers/Neukirchen-Vluyn district? How did the parties perform in 2017? How do I find the right polling station? The most important information at a glance.

Eight months after the federal election, on Sunday 15 May, there will be another election in North Rhine-Westphalia: this time around the state parliament. In the newly designed district of Moers/Neukirchen-Vluyn, voters will also decide who will rule in Düsseldorf over the next five years. We have summarized the most important information about the elections.

What was actually chosen? In state elections, the composition of the state parliament is voted on. Each voter can cast two votes: the first and the second. The first vote determines which direct candidates from the constituency will move to the state parliament. The second vote is important to the parties involved and ultimately determines the distribution of seats in the NRW’s eighteenth state parliament.

What has changed in the constituency? In January 2021, the state parliament decided on a new division of state districts, rescinding the Neukirchen-Fluen division into different electoral districts and merging the entire city with Moers. This means that while Floen was previously part of the Whistle 2 constituency and represented by Rene Schneider (SPD) in the state parliament, Neukirchen belonged to the IV Whistle and thus to the Abraham Yatim constituency. In the May elections, Moers and Neukirchen-Vluyn now formed the 60th Wesel IV district.

Who is in the elections? A total of nine direct candidates run in the Wesel IV (Moers / Neukirchen-Vluyn) constituency.

Ibrahim Yatim SPD: 57 years old, mining mechanic originally, Member of State Parliament since 2010, lives in Moers-Kapellen, born in Dinslaken-Lohberg. In the party since 1991, SPD city council faction member of Moers, NRW-SPD board member.

Julia Zubancic, Charles Darwin University: 40, economics graduate, self-employed in strategic and marketing consultancy, lives in Moers, born in Moers. In the party since 2011, council member since 2014, environmental and urban development policy spokeswoman since 2016, deputy chairperson of the Parliamentary Group since 2017, leader of the CDU Parliamentary Group in Moers City Council since 2020.

Tom Wagner, Greens: 47, qualified civil engineer and traffic planner, lives in Neukirchen-Fluen, born in Ohlau (near Breslau), Chairman of the Wesel Parliamentary Group in the Neukirchen-Fluener City Council, delegate of the Wesel County Assembly at the State Party Conference LDK NRW, a member of the LAG Transport and Mobility NRW Green State Working Group. With the Greens since 2011.

Konstantin Borges, FDP: 27, banker and MA student, lives in Moers, born in Rheinhausen, with Liberals since 2009, Vice-Chairman of the Moers Party, Vice-President of the FDP Niederrhein, Vice-President of Young Liberals in the Federalist Association.

Hasan Ozer, D-Link: 37, a trained chemical technician, works in welfare for a refugee organization in Wiese, lives in Moers, and is a member of the Moers Integration Board for Die Linke.Liste.

Renatus Rieger, AfD: 64, Business Administration graduate, lives in Moers-Hülsdonk, was born in Moers. He left the CDU in 2014, then joined the Alternative for Germany party. Spokesperson for the AfD District Assembly of Wesel, leader of the Moerser AfD parliamentary bloc, and member of Wesel County Council.

Holger Denker, Team Todenhöfer: 56 years old, businessman, lives in Xanten, born in Oberhausen. In the team of Todenhöfer – Justice Party since January 2021. Resident of the State Board of Directors of North Rhine-Westphalia and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Wesel County Assembly. Previously at CDU for many years and also for a short time at AfD.

Gisela Feldhaus, Die Basis: 56, has worked as a methodological coach and project coordinator on social and cultural projects for ten years, lives in Moers, was born in Haltern am See. In death base since May 2021; From June 21 to January 22 Member of the Board of Directors of the Wesel District Association.

Manuela Zeitz, gig: 50, dog trainer and author, lives in Moers, bred in Essen. Member of the party since 2020 and also since 2020 as a Citizen Informed Committee on Citizens Applications and on the Moers Marketing Supervisory Board and as an advisory member of the Integration Board. Since 2021 the second president of the Wesel District Assembly.

How do I find the right polling place? Among other things, the respective polling station in the polling area is noted in the election notice, as well as whether it is barrier-free, as well as all information regarding postal voting options. Information on polling stations is also available online. In Moers via the polling station finder www.moers.de, in Neukirchen-Vluyn via www.neukirchen-vluyn.de. With this web application, users can enter street name and house number to search for the associated polling station (election district) and at the same time get a map displayed via google maps and, if desired, directions.

How do I apply for a ballot by mail? Postal voting documents may be requested by Friday, May 13, 6pm at the City of Moers Postal Polling Office or electronically (by email, via the homepage or printed QR code). In the event of a sudden, verifiable illness that makes it impossible to go to the polling station or is only possible with unreasonable difficulties, the application may be submitted until election day, i.e. until May 15, at 3 pm. Missing ballot papers will not be replaced. If the person entitled to vote credibly asserts that he did not receive the ballot paper for which he applied, a ballot paper can be issued until 12 noon on the day before the election (May 14). The postal voting office is located at Moers town hall, Rathausplatz 1, 2nd floor (North wing), room 2.070 (Seelow meeting room), phone 02841201-908, e-mail: briefwahl@moers.de. Hours of Operation: Monday to Wednesday from 8 am to 4 pm, Thursday from 8 am to 5 pm, and Friday from 8 am to 12 pm. Special Hours: Friday May 13th 8am-6pm, Saturday May 14th 8am-12pm, Sunday May 15th 8am-3pm.

When do polling stations open? Open Sunday, May 15 from 8am to 6pm.

What happens if the vote notice is lost? The right to vote can also be exercised if you lose your voting notice. In such cases, persons eligible to vote must have identification cards or passports ready for identification at the polling station.

How did the parties perform in 2017? In Moores, the SPD with Ibrahim Yatim was 42.09 percent ahead of then CDU candidate Ingo Bruhl (34.63 percent). Greens: 4.37 percent; FDP 9.15 percent; Such as 6.28 per cent. – The overall result of the top candidates in the previous constituency 59 / Wesel IV: Ibrahim Yatim, the Social Democratic Party (42.2 percent). Ingo Brohl, CDU (34.6 percent). The 2017 state election results can be found online at: https://bit.ly/3MiqPLc.

Who can vote? About 13 million eligible voters in the state of NRW were called to vote. These are all Germans who have reached the age of 18, i.e. born on May 15, 2004 at the latest, and whose main residence has been in the NRW since at least the 16th day before the election, i.e. since April 29, 2022, or usually live there stop.

Leave a Comment